Select Language



The Global Energy Prize has recognized outstanding achievements in energy research and technology around the world for more than a decade, shining a spotlight on leading scientific work that not only furthers the boundaries of important research but the interests of humanity.

The Global Energy Prize is presented each year in St. Petersburg by the President of the Russian Federation where winners receive a prize of RUB 33 million.

Since the first awards ceremony in 2003, the prize has been presented to 33 laureates from 10 countries. Winners have included prominent scientists such as Arthur Rosenfeld from the US (for his pioneering work in energy-efficient buildings), Akira Yoshino from Japan (for the invention of lithium ion batteries), and Thorsteinn Ingi Sigfusson from Iceland (for developing hydrogen into a viable alternative power source in Iceland).

The awards process is overseen by an international committee that consists of 20 scientists from 13 countries, chaired by British scientist and Nobel Prize winner Professor Rodney Allam. World leaders who have supported the Prize include former US President George W. Bush, former British Prime Ministers Tony Blair and Gordon Brown, former French President Jacques Chirac, current Canadian Prime Minister Steven Harper and current Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.

The competition is managed by the Moscow-based Non-Profit Partnership Global Energy Prize, with the support of three leading Russian energy companies: Gazprom, Surgutneftegaz and Federal Grid Company of Unified Energy System.

The key drivers determining the award include:


Each of the Laureates awarded the Global Energy Prize is given a commemorative medal, a diploma, an honorary lapel badge of gold and a monetary prize of RUB 33 million. 


Developed by Brickwall