Select Language



In the 15 years since its foundation, the Global Energy Prize has been awarded to 35 scientists and researchers around the world who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in their field. The laureates come from nine different countries, including Canada, France, Germany, Sweden, Iceland, Japan, Russia, Ukraine, United Kingdom and the USA.

Masaji Yoshikawa (JAP)

Masaji Yoshikawa was born on October 15, 1933 in Tokyo, Japan. In 1956 he graduated from the University of Tokyo.

During from 1963 to 1971 in the USA he was carrying out the studies of high-temperature plasma retention on tokomaks in General Atomic and in Japan Atomic Energy Institute. Since 1992 he is a Co-Chairman of the ITER Council. At present Masaji Yoshikawa is the President of Japan Atomic Energy Institute (JAERI) and also works in the Thermonuclear Research Council at the Ministry of Nuclear Energy of Japan.

In 2006 he was granted the Global Energy International Energy Prize for his scientific contribution to ITER project.

Scientific activities

  • Researched confinement of high-temperature plasma on tokamaks.
  • Developed scientific and technical foundations for creation of an international thermonuclear reactor.

Developed by Brickwall