Select Language



The Global Energy Prize annually honors outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world that are helping address the world’s various and pressing energy challenges.

The Global Energy Prize Awarded in St. Petersburg

The official Global Energy Prize award ceremony took place today on the 23rd of May in St. Petersburg. The awards were presented to the Laureates by the President of Rosneft during the St. Petersburg Economic Forum. 

This year’s prize was awarded to Swedish nuclear physicist Lars Gunnar Larsson and Russian scientist Professor Ashot Sarkisov, who were recognized for their “outstanding contribution to the enhancement of nuclear safety and decommissioning of nuclear facilities”. 
Igor Sechin, President of Rosnest, awarded the laureates on behalf of Russian President Vladimir Putin. He called the Global Energy Prize the Nobel Prize technological satellite. Mr. Sechin noted that the laureates’ work has huge practical importance for solution of global nuclear challenges. “This year’s laureates have been working closely for a long time, they fulfilled the radioactive rehabilitation of the Arctic region, which nowadays is a subject of close international cooperation”.
Lars G Larsson: "Russia has been in my thoughts for a long time. Before, the Iron Curtain that passed through the middle of the Baltic Sea made a closer cooperation with Russian colleagues virtually impossible. You probably understand how happy and proud I am to be standing here in front of the scientific and engineering community of Russia, having been recognized for my achievements in the technological fields of nuclear safety and nuclear waste management, being a witness to how Russian nuclear science moved from the isolation during the Soviet times to international standards, gradually getting rid of the legacy of the Cold War”.
Professor Ashot Sarkisov emphasized that nuclear energy today is not only one of the most important forces of scientific and technological progress, but also a significant factor in the global geopolitics. "Nuclear power has become a model of fruitful international cooperation. A striking confirmation of this is the fact that this year’s Global Energy prize has been jointly awarded to me and my Swedish colleague Dr. Lars Larsson ", said Professor Sarkisov.

The 2014 Global Energy Prize comes with a monetary award of 33 million rubles.

The winners of the 2014 Global Energy Prize achieved outstanding results for the global scientific community results. Professor Ashot Sarkisov is known as one of the founders of the Soviet nuclear fleet and has been working in the field of nuclear security during the last several decades. For many years, Professor Sarkisov has been actively involved in the cooperation between the Russian Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences of the United States on non-proliferation of nuclear weapons. In 2004, Professor Sarkisov led the development of a master plan for the disposal of the decommissioned Russian nuclear fleet and remediation of hazardous radioactive parts of its infrastructure in the North-West of Russia.

World-famous nuclear scientist Lars G Larsson made a significant contribution to the study of the effects of nuclear power on the environment. The results of his work are particularly in demand in the cases of nuclear accidents. In particular, Lars G Larsson took part in the investigation and cleanup of the Three Mile Island accident in the US State of Pennsylvania in 1979. Despite the fact that Lars G Larsson has spent the majority of his working life in Sweden, his most prominent projects have a close connection to Russia, in particular the restoration of normal background radiation in the Russian Arctic zone. Russian Arctic waters currently contain a large number of submerged radioactive objects left there during the period of the Cold War. In 2003 it was decided on an international level that all of such radioactive waste is to be completely destroyed.

The Global Energy Prize is an independent award for outstanding scientific research and technological development in the field of energy that improves efficiency and ecological security of energy sources on for the benefit of all humankind.Earth. Since 2003, the Global Energy Prize has been awarded to 31  scientists from 10 countries, including the UK, Germany, Iceland, Canada, Russia, the US, Sweden, Ukraine, France and Japan. The recipients of the prize are selected by the International Award Committee consisting of 25 authoritative scientists from 10 countries. The pool of eligible nominees includes 2700 scientists from 60 countries.
The award was established in Russia with the support of leading Russian energy corporations Gazprom, Surgutneftegas and the Federal Grid Company of Unified Energy System. The heads of these companies are invited to the awards ceremony as guests of honor.

Additional Information:
Marina Akatova, telephone: +7 911 790 29 75, [email protected]
Marina Antipenko, telephone.: +7-921-649-73-74; [email protected]

Developed by Brickwall