Select Language



The Global Energy Prize annually honors outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world that are helping address the world’s various and pressing energy challenges.

The Global Energy Prize Award Ceremony for the 2015 GEP laureates

The Global Energy Prize Award Ceremony will take place on the 19th June 2015 at 13-00 in the Pavilion 7A, Conference Hall 7.1.
The prize is awarded by the President of Russian Federation Vladimir Putin.

This year’s Global Energy Prize was awarded to Shuji Nakamura, Japanese-born professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara and Indian-born Jayant Baliga, professor at the North Carolina State University. The revolutionary discoveries of the two scientists have changed the energy industry and, importantly, had a colossal commercial effect. Professor Nakamura invented the blue LED and was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2015 for his discovery. Professor Baliga, who was awarded the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, the highest award for an engineer in USA by US President Barack Obama, is the author of the Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT), one of the most important innovations in electric energy distribution. His invention forms a basis for smart grid. Over the last 20 years, IGBTs saved over 50,000 TW•h of energy, over 1 trillion gas gallons, and decreased CO2 emissions by 75 trillion lbs.

Developed by Brickwall