Select Language



The Global Energy Prize annually honors outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world that are helping address the world’s various and pressing energy challenges.

The Global Energy Prize Award Ceremony

The Global Energy Prize Award Ceremony will take place on June, 17, 2016 at 11-50 in the Pavilion F, Conference Hall F 1.1.
The prize is awarded by the President of Russian Federation Vladimir Putin or by a person on his behalf.

This year’s Global Energy Prize is to be awarded to Valentin Parmon, Russia, for his breakthrough development of new catalysts in the area of petroleum refining and the renewable sources of energy as a principal contribution into the energy of the future. Scientific advisor of the Institute of Catalysis of the Siberian Branch of RAS is the author of many breakthrough inventions, which brought a significant commercial effect. In 2003-2006 new generation catalysts for production of motor fuels, in particular, diesel, complying with the Euro-4 and Euro-5 standards, were designed and industrially introduced under his supervision. Within these 3 years the scientist received RUB 500 million from the state for the project research, and introduction of new catalysts at the enterprises gave additional products – super-gasoline – for almost RUB 10 billion, i.e. 17 times more than was invested. He also develops methods of fuel production from plant raw materials: wood substance, rice. Valentin Parmon has also mastered a technology of transforming solar energy into chemical one.   A number of solar catalytic reactors were designed and tested under his supervision. Their efficiency of solar energy conversion in to chemical fuel reaches 43% at 2 kW of available capacity (this indicator has not been surpassed yet).

The Global Energy Prize is an independent award for outstanding scientific research and technological developments in the energy field, which contribute to the benefit of humanity. Since 2003, The Global Energy Prize has been awarded to 34 Laureates from 10 countries: Canada, Germany, France, Iceland, Japan, Russia, Sweden, Ukraine, the UK and the US. The final choice of the laureates is made by The Global Energy Prize International Award Committee, which consists of 20 respected scientists from 13 countries. The nominating pool of the Global Energy Prize is represented by 3000 scientists from 83 countries. The 2016 Prize endowment sum is RUB 39 million (around $ 600 000)

The award was established in Russia with the support of leading Russian energy companies Gazprom, Surgutneftegas and the Federal Grid Company of Unified Energy System. The heads of these companies are invited to the Award Ceremony as guests of honor.

Developed by Brickwall