Select Language

LAUREATES

DEMONSTRATING EXCEPTIONAL ACHIEVEMENT

In the 15 years since its foundation, the Global Energy Prize has been awarded to 35 scientists and researchers around the world who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in their field. The laureates come from nine different countries, including Canada, France, Germany, Sweden, Iceland, Japan, Russia, Ukraine, United Kingdom and the USA.

Ian Douglas Smith (USA)

Ian Douglas Smith was born on August 09, 1937 in Farnborough, Hampshire, England. In 1959 he graduated from Saint-Jones College in Cambridge, and obtained the first and second degree of baccalaureate in natural sciences.

In 1964 he became a doctor of physics. In 1980 Smith established «Pulse Sciences Inc.». Ian Douglas Smith is a well-known American scientist and an expert in the field of powerful pulse energy, insulation equipment, megavolt commutation equipment. Smith made a number of discoveries in the sphere of powerful pulse equipment. Smith has studied break-downs of large sets of vacuum insulators and developed a theory of linear passage in oil and water, as well as in solid dielectrics. He is the author and co-author of more than twenty ingenious scientific works in the field of powerful pulses generation and designing accelerators, as well as the author of six patents.

At present Smith is the Chief Manager and Senior Researcher in "Titan Pulse Sciences Division".

In 2003 Ian Douglas Smith became the Laureate of Global Energy International Prize for fundamental research and development in the field of powerful pulse energy.

Scientific activities

  • Specialist in the field of insulation equipment, megavolt commutation equipment.
  • Made a number of distinguishing achievements in the field of pulse power engineering.
  • Made analysis of breakdown of a big package of vacuum insulators and determined regularities of breakdown in oil and water, and also, solid dielectrics.
  • Designed multichannel megavolt gas switchers and megavolt synchronizing switches in oil.
  • Determined a number of regularities of breakdown in oil and water, and also, solid dielectrics.
  • Participated in design of many big high-current energy systems, particularly, gamma-radiation simulator «Aurora» — one of the first multiterawatt generators «Python».

Developed by Brickwall

Выбор языка

Лауреаты

ЗА ИСКЛЮЧИТЕЛЬНЫЕ ДОСТИЖЕНИЯ

За прошедшие со дня её основания 14 лет премией «Глобальная энергия» были награждены 33 ученых. Эти исследователи со всего мира продемонстрировали исключительные достижения в своей области. Премия абсолютно по праву называется международной, достаточно познакомиться с географией: лауреатами становились граждане Канады, Франции, Германии, Исландии, Японии, России, Украины, Швеции, Великобритании и США. Давайте поближе познакомимся с цветом мировой энергетической мысли. И узнаем подробнее обо всех обладателях «Глобальной энергии».

ЯН ДУГЛАС СМИТ (США)

Ян Дуглас Смит родился в английском городе Фарнборо, графство Гемпшир, 9 августа 1937 года. В 1959 году закончил колледж Сен-Джонс в Кембридже и получил степень бакалавра первой и второй степени в области естественных наук. Доктором физики Смит стал в 1964 году.

В 1980 году он создал компанию «Pulse Sciences Inc.». Ян Дуглас Смит является известным американским ученым и специалистом в области импульсной энергетики, изоляционной техники, мегавольтной коммутационной техники. Смит провел анализ пробоя больших пакетов вакуумных изоляторов и вывел теорию пробоя в масле и воде, а также в твердых диэлектриках. Смит написал более двадцати научных работ в области конструирования ускорителей и генерирования мощных импульсов, а также стал автором шести патентов.

Смит является главным управляющим и старшим научным сотрудником компании «Titan Pulse Sciences Division».

В 2003 году господин Смит был отмечен Международной энергетической премией «Глобальная энергия» за фундаментальные исследования и разработку мощной импульсной энергетики.


Научная деятельность.

  • Специалист в области изоляционной техники, мегавольтной коммутационной техники.
  • Совершил ряд выдающихся достижений в сфере мощной импульсной энергетики.
  • Провел анализ пробоя больших пакетов вакуумных изоляторов и выявил закономерности при пробое в масле, воде и твердых диэлектриках.
  • Создал многоканальные мегавольтные газовые переключатели и мегавольтные синхронизирующие переключатели в масле.
  • Участвовал в конструировании многих крупных систем сильноточной энергии, в частности, имитатора гамма-излучения «Аврора» и одного из первых многотераватных генераторов «Питон».

Developed by Brickwall